Account Login
Welcome to Our Ministry
 Marriage Laws
Share |

<--Maine   | Michigan |   Minnesota -->

Michigan State Marriage Law & Information

Most counties in Michigan will require your official credentials to register


Michigan Marriage Law

Michigan Compiled Laws

Section 551.7

Persons authorized to solemnize marriage; records; returns; disposition of fees charged by mayor or county clerk.

History: R.S. 1846, Ch. 83 ;-- CL 1857, 3210 ;-- CL 1871, 4725 ;-- Am. 1873, Act 85, Eff. July 31, 1873 ;-- How. 6215 ;-- CL 1897, 8594 ;-- Am. 1903, Act 139, Eff. Sept. 17, 1903 ;-- Am. 1909, Act 235, Eff. Sept. 1, 1909 ;-- CL 1915, 11368 ;-- CL 1929, 12696 ;-- Am. 1931, Act 28, Imd. Eff. Apr. 21, 1931 ;-- Am. 1937, Act 42, Eff. Oct. 29, 1937 ;-- CL 1948, 551.7 ;-- Am. 1972, Act 211, Eff. July 1, 1972 ;-- Am. 1975, Act 175, Imd. Eff. July 20, 1975 ;-- Am. 1979, Act 24, Imd. Eff. June 6, 1979 ;-- Am. 1983, Act 64, Imd. Eff. May 26, 1983 ;-- Am. 2006, Act 419, Imd. Eff. Sept. 29, 2006 ;-- Am. 2006, Act 613, Imd. Eff. Jan. 3, 2007 ;-- Am. 2008, Act 47, Imd. Eff. Mar. 27, 2008

Section 551.104

Certificate completion; officiating person duty; original license return; record.

It shall be the duty of the clergyman or magistrate, officiating at a marriage, to fill in the spaces of the certificate left blank for the entry of the time and place of the marriage, the names and residences of 2 witnesses, and his own signature in certification that the marriage has been performed by him and any and all information required to be filled in in the spaces left blank in the certificate shall be typewritten or legibly printed. He shall separate the duplicate license and certificate, and deliver the half part designated duplicate to 1 of the parties, so joined in marriage, and within 10 days return the original to the county clerk issuing the same. It shall be the duty of such clergyman or magistrate to keep an accurate record of all marriages solemnized in a book used expressly for that purpose.

History: 1887, Act 128, Eff. Sept. 28, 1887 ;-- How. 6222d ;-- CL 1897, 8605 ;-- Am. 1913, Act 244, Eff. Aug. 14, 1913 ;-- CL 1915, 11379 ;-- CL 1929, 12709 ;-- CL 1948, 551.104 ;-- Am. 1955, Act 96, Eff. Oct. 14, 1955

Section 551.106

Person officiating at marriage; violation of act, misdemeanor, penalty.

Any clergyman or magistrate who shall join together in marriage parties who have not delivered to him a properly issued license, as provided for in this act, or who shall violate any of the provisions of this act, shall be adjudged guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be punished by a fine of 100 dollars, or in default of payment thereof, by imprisonment in the county jail for a term of 90 days.

History: 1887, Act 128, Eff. Sept. 28, 1887 ;-- How. 6222f ;-- CL 1897, 8607 ;-- CL 1915, 11381 ;-- CL 1929, 12711 ;-- CL 1948, 551.106

Section 551.202

Application for marriage license; form; fee; performing marriage ceremony; permit; record; marriage certificate; execution of papers in duplicate; delivery of marriage certificate to parties.

Each application made under this act for a marriage license shall be in the usual form and shall be accompanied by a fee of $3.00, $2.00 of which the judge of probate shall keep for services rendered, and $1.00 of which the judge of probate shall forward to the state registrar for deposit in the state general fund. The judge of probate, upon the filing of an application under this act, shall perform the marriage ceremony. If the applicant or either of the parties to the marriage desires to have the marriage ceremony performed by some person competent to perform the marriage ceremony other than the judge of probate, the judge of probate shall issue a written permit to the person designated by the applicant or contracting party directing that person to perform the marriage ceremony. The party so designated, if competent to perform the marriage ceremony under the laws of this state, may perform the marriage ceremony, but a record shall not be made of the marriage, except the record made by the judge of probate under this act. Upon the performance of the marriage ceremony, the party performing it shall return the marriage certificate to the judge of probate, who shall attach the license and certificate to the application. The papers described in this section shall be executed in duplicate, and the person performing the marriage ceremony shall deliver a certificate of the marriage to the parties.

History: 1897, Act 180, Eff. Aug. 30, 1897 ;-- CL 1897, 8613 ;-- Am. 1899, Act 232, Eff. Sept. 23, 1899 ;-- Am. 1909, Act 312, Eff. Sept. 1, 1909 ;-- Am. 1911, Act 224, Eff. Aug. 1, 1911 ;-- CL 1915, 11388 ;-- CL 1929, 12718 ;-- CL 1948, 551.202 ;-- Am. 1979, Act 133, Imd. Eff. Oct. 30, 1979 ;-- Am. 1983, Act 199, Imd. Eff. Nov. 7, 1983

Marriage License Agency: County Clerk
Common Law: No
Civil Union: N/A
Duration of Marriage Licence: 33 Days after application



<--Maine   | Michigan |   Minnesota -->


*** Information provided is for personal use only and is not meant to replace legal counsel. ***